Test 32–Boz Scaggs Look What I Got

I don’t know why this song passes the test of “will the record company let me share it here.” If it is ever rejected, it’s Boz Scaggs Look What I Got, from, I guess, his second album, in 1969 (around 11K views in 2016), and the vocal performance on this song is just incomprehensibly wonderful. “Loan Me a Dime,” with a feller named Duane Allman on guitar, was on this album also. He had way bigger hits later on in his career, but his vocal peak was on this album.

 

This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Test 32–Boz Scaggs Look What I Got

  1. Nice to see you still here. So many of us have become too busy, or maybe disillusioned, to keep up with our blogs. I got too depressed. Still am after experiencing a creative high at the beginning of the weekend and then a big emotional hit at the end. I guess that’s life. Anyway, I’d never heard early Boz before. Thanks for sharing.

    I also went to see Tests 1 and 2. Isn’t it nice when they’re still there? 🙂

    • Hi, Re. It’s good to hear from you. Depression bothers me too. Also, most of my “oldest-friend-bloggers” no longer blog much. I’ve found a few others here and there to follow, but they’re pretty spotty too. Maybe it’s just not cool any more.
      I actually went through all my old “Tests” one night a while back and saw that a bunch of them were still there, though some are blocked. Live versions seem to have better success, though they can be ragged, of course.

  2. I’m not sure I ever got into Boz Scaggs. Perhaps I’ll give him another go! It’s funny, I have a limited number of plugs, so can choose between sound, printing, my massage chair thingo or my keyboard. Ah, the paths not trodden!

    • “Loan Me a Dime” is a sort of long-play, late ’60s, FM classic song with a great vocal from Boz and, I suppose you could say, a timeless guitar solo from Duane Allman. Scaggs had his huge payday during the disco era though, with “What Can I Say,” and “Lido Shuffle” and some ballads. I have to ask, though: Are you saying that your massage chair thingo runs off your computer, or is it a power plug issue?
      On another subject:
      AC/DC, Men at Work, or INXS?
      (My ex-stepdaughter, who was mostly a cool teenager at the time, once called INXS “Inks-S.” I still chuckle at that.)

Leave a Reply

