Test 12–Bruce Springsteen Which Led to Nils Lofgren and Grin

I knew it, I knew I wouldn’t be able to play the original Grin song “Like Rain” from Nils Lofgren’s Grin days, so I’ll have to see if I can come up with a live version.  If you don’t know the guy or the song, you could do worse than searching for “Grin Like Rain;” grab one with the album cover or back cover in the video and it gives the album version, which is actually the rockingest version, that I’ve found anyway.  “When I fall sleeping I dream of good things, but I always wake up the same:”

Well, thank you Jesus; Google let me play the live version.  But, fuck that faint praise of the album version of “Like Rain.”  No hyperbole intended–one of the top ten under-heard, underrated rock songs of the ’70s.  Do yourself a favor and search for “Grin Like Rain.”  Did I say that twice?  Sorry about that.  I meant to say, at least three times, that you should listen to the original Grin version of “Like Rain.”  😉

This other song is pretty much a primal scream about knowing that the singer is caught up in a relationship that feels like a ball and chain, or a second job.  It’s a ballad that starts by speaking of the trap in a somewhat tender way, then ruefully slides into the singer’s plans and dreams to be free and leave the relationship, then roars into a gigantic exclamation of rage that the freedom is not quite there yet, but we all know that, fucking A, it’s coming!

I didn’t really feel one way or another about any relationship thing tonight, but this song just feels right as a giant “screw-you, world” song about any trap, whether it’s work or drudgery of life or that Mother Nature shrew and her pal in this season: that Old Man Winter douche.  “I’m Old Man Winter; I’m going to rule everything about your days and nights.”  Fuck you, Old Man Douche, I can go away in my mind to a place where water moves and grass grows and trees have leaves.  I believe I bought the “We Are the World” album back then for Springsteen’s version of Jimmy Cliff’s “Trapped” and not for the feel-good title song.  DKDC, don’t know don’t care.  Think I’ve played a live version here before a (me love you) long time ago.

Yay, it let it play, for now anyway, test okay, hurrah, hurrah.

Did I mean “ruefully?”  DKDC, enough time spent already on just a music appreciation blogpost.

One last thing:

“GRIN LIKE RAIN” album version.  Good night, all.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Essay, Humor, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Test 12–Bruce Springsteen Which Led to Nils Lofgren and Grin

  1. ksbeth says:

    thanks for this and i feel spring on the horizon. just let me chip the ice off of my windows to see it a bit clearer –

Leave a Reply

