Bare Trees

Did you ever see the SNL clip called “The Chris Farley Show”, where Chris Farley interviews Paul McCartney?  That was awesome, man.  If you’ve seen it, you’ll get the silly joke.  Well, that’s how I feel sometimes when trying to describe things.  I mean, I can write okay about me or what happens to me or what I observe about people, I suppose, but to describe a sunrise or a mountain or a face or, in this case, bare trees reflected in a pool of water at the edge of a paved lane, about all I can do is say, “that was awesome, man.”  It (seeing leafless trees reflected in water on a roadway) always reminds me of a trailer for a horror film of some sort, where a carload of unsuspecting teens is headed towards their doom, or a spy movie or mystery where an unsuspecting good person is being taken on their last ride.  Since I have a tracphone which doesn’t take pics, didn’t have my cheap digital camera that day, and don’t feel like driving all over heck today to find a similar view (too sunny anyway), here is a link to a representative pic:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/elyssa-conley/322996960/

I don’t know the proper etiquette; I assume the person would welcome me sending viewers their way, but I’d need to ask permission to use the pic here, and I have no patience for asking and waiting for permission.

Despite, like Farley, my misgivings about its worth, I felt like creating something, a poem or story, about such a picture (or in my case, a memory).  Since I’ve done serial killers to death, ha ha, this one is more of the “last ride” variety:

BARE TREES

Russian
Whore
Big
Fat
Mouth
Telling
Russian
Mob
Secrets

Long
Ride
Country
Lane
Trees
Leafless
Reflecting
Puddles
Dark
Horror
Film
Beauty

Russian
Beauty
Staring
Seeing
Lifeless
Trees
Reflecting
Suddenly
Realizing
Fearing
Turning
Seeing
Choking
Dying
Falling
Landing

Dead
Staring
Eyes
Reflecting
Lifeless
Autumn
Puddle
Light

Speaking of Paul McCartney, do you remember when, not sure if it was actually him or a character playing him on a different SNL, was asked “What did you think of when you wrote “Helter Skelter”, and his answer was “We wanted to inspire a bloody mass murder?”  That was awesome, man.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

