Somebody Loan Me a Mobile Phone

Whassup?

Have you ever wanted to go back and say some smartass thing to someone, some witty retort or timely putdown?  I surely have.  Like the time some guy honked at me in front of the convenience store to move on so that he could park right in front of the place.  I was cutting the tag off some new shades I’d bought, but I moved to the side of the parking lot to do that.  I, nearly immediately, wished that I had leaned out my window and asked him who he was operating on that day that he was in a hurry to get to; I’m sure he was just a lazy, self-important fuck who wanted an easy parking spot.  This was many, many years ago.

About 20 years ago, at a bar, I used a pay phone, which immediately stole my dime.  I think the 4 pay phones still in operation in the U. S. still charge a quarter for a local call, but at that time they were transitioning from a dime to a quarter.  I called the operator to complain, and a very young female voice answered, “Well, FIRST OF ALL, it’s a quarter.”  I was, believe it or not, SLIGHTLY impaired, so I had no clever reply, but I did want to say “FIRST OF ALL, you’re wrong,” but I think I just hung up.  It was a dime after all.

This is preamble to 3 songs that I hope are allowed to go on here.  I don’t know what I was searching for one day when I found songs on the Tube from an album I used to have, an early album (the first?) from Boz Scaggs.  (He probably has been, but) Boz deserves to be laid every day of his life for how good his voice was on “Look What I Got” (or “Look What I’ve Got”).  It’s just that good.  “Another Day, Another Letter” is another favorite of mine from there, and you can’t escape it without including “Loan Me a Dime”, with Duane Allman on guitar.  “Somebody loan me a cell phone” (or mobile phone) just wouldn’t have the same ring.  It’s a song that couldn’t be written today, I suppose.

Agree with my tastes or have your own, I just pity people that don’t really have something bluesy or soul-filled or full of passion in a vocal performance by a favorite singer, or two, or three, or more (I could name a dozen or two singers that make my heart ache and make my heart sing at the same time, as trite as that sounds), that just fill the listener’s heart and soul.  If an unexamined life is not worth living, then a life without intense love for passionately done music is not worth living either.  Before he got all “over-produced” in his later albums, one of the best white blues singers ever, the Boz:

Boz Scaggs Look What I’ve Got

Well, here we go again.  I don’t know if it’s wordpress, youtube, my computer, or what, but I like it a lot better when my posts, or other people’s posts, show the still shot from the you tube video rather than a link, but that’s what I’m getting, is a link.  Anyway these are legitimate YouTube videos:

Boz Scaggs Another Day, Another Letter

Somebody better loan me a dime; mine got lost in the pay phone and I wanted to drunk-dial an old flame:

Boz Scaggs Loan Me a Dime

This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Somebody Loan Me a Mobile Phone

  1. Gregoryno6 says:

    I’ve been having the same trouble with youtube links – look for the Embed button below the vid, and copy the code that appears. That worked for me.

  2. I’ve never seen Boz Scaggs listed so many times at once before.

    This is H.E. Ellis, by the way. I’m on my other blog.

    • The Boz will not be denied. I would’ve figured out it was you after a while, I suppose. I would have saied “Whuuuuuuuut”, then “Oh, yeah, the wrists thing”. Thanks for stopping by again.

  3. Anna says:

    I have these kind of situations more often than I’d like. I’m terrible at public speaking and always get my words muddled up, which is why I find writing a better method of expression, so even if I think of something witty it always comes out like dciubcubbabckjcna. Which is never a good thing. Never.

    • Sounds like the time long ago, when I went up to ask for my soda that they forgot at a fast food place, and several people came up to help, since it was slow, and I couldn’t decide whether to say “I didn’t get my pop” or “I’m supposed to get a Pepsi”, so it came out as “jfopwupajkljlkjglk”, and they ALLLLL backed carefully away from the insane person at the counter, except for the poor soul that was right in front of me.

Leave a Reply

