“I Don’t Remember It, So Let’s December It, And Reassemble It”

The group called “Train” has had some okay-to-good songs and a lot of crap.  I don’t know how I (mercifully) missed the Coke commercials from last year that featured this song by them, but I don’t recall hearing it before, so when I heard the all-so-excited opening line “Shake up the HAPPINESS!” on the store’s Muzak the other day, I immediately was plotting the singer’s death.  When some random serial killer comes across the singer someday, and the singer tries to save himself by saying that he brought “Christmas joy” to people with this load of crap, I expect the killer to say: “Ohmigod, you’re the asshole who invented the lines ‘I don’t remember it, so let’s December it’??  Well, for that horrible abomination of lyrics, you just gave up your right to a painless death.  Sorry, you should have thought of that back then.”  Wow.

I won’t “embed” this stinking pile of crap here; you’ll have to look up “Shake Up Christmas” yourselves.

This entry was posted in Humor, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “I Don’t Remember It, So Let’s December It, And Reassemble It”

  1. You are soooo good at this! (Thanks for not torturing me with Train. I have a hard time not clicking the button, even when forewarned.) 🙂

  2. Whoops, I guess it’s “Shake up the happiness”–whatever, Train, it’s awful either way.

  3. Reblogged this on Trailertrashdeluxe's Blog and commented:

    This needs to be reblogged until the writer of this song issues a public apology for ever coming up with these lyrics. This kind of music is evil. I will be back to live blogging some day; I’m sure you’re thrilled about that. Have a good weekend, friends.

  4. My 12 year old daughter just went to her first concert. It was Train. I really don’t have anything else to say about that. (Except, perhaps. we’re getting OOOOOLLLLLLLDDDDD.)

    • The guy has an immense talent, and he does everything I like in a singer–he has an open voice and really belts it out. But he’s written a couple songs that make me cringe. Hell, though she’s over the hill, Patty Loveless is still my favorite country singer, and she’s done a couple songs I can’t wait to turn off when I hear ’em. (Oh, and speaking for myself, we ARE getting old)

  5. Mrs Fever says:

    Well, they’re not *all* bad. I actually really like “Meet Virginia”.

    But ‘December it?’

    Um…

    Hurl.

    • I like that one too, and a few others. They’ve done some good songs, but he (I think their lead vocalist is also the chief songwriter) has also written these wonderful lines: “While everybody else is just getting out of bed, I’m usually getting in it, I’m not in it to win it, and there’s a thousand ways you can skin it,” or something like that (and sung about 8 syllables per second–that’s the awful part). Talented or not, “Shake up Christmas” (or whatever it’s called) is a bad-smelling fish that should’ve been thrown back. Thanks for stopping by again.

Leave a Reply

