Ode to a Young Waitress

Ode To A  Young Waitress

You watched me from over the top of a menu
Eating my omelet like a starving man
Drinking coffee like an addict
Hash browns and toast rapidly disappearing

You watched me read my paper
A story about a mom
A mom who was pregnant at 15
Who was treated with love by her school

Who heard through her tears that she wouldn’t be thrown out
Would instead be expected to stay
And now worked for that same school herself
And watched her son enter the same school

You no doubt saw my eyes well up
As I read this happy/sad tale
Was that the moment it happened?
When you felt such a tug at your heart?

You were new, or worked different hours maybe
I’d never seen you before
It was plain that you were thinking of me
Thinking of the possibility

I knew then what you wanted
From a middle-aged man like me
I knew right then that you wanted me …….
To not even THINK about chasing you.

This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

