Here’s a list

Here’s a list of what I’ve been doing this weekend so far: 

1.   Being lazy.

2.  Being lazier.

3.  Being laziest.

4.  Hanging out with my daughter for about 24 hours–but even that was just nice in a “spending time together” way rather than “Boy we sure did a lot of fun stuff together” way. 

5.  Getting a huge burst of energy for a while and cleaning out my shed.  What a wasteland; at least now I can get my mower in and out of it. 

6.  Going back to being lazy.

7.  Having a “couple” glasses of wine.  My big toe (the one that went to market) has been weird for years, and more weird lately sometimes, so I sometimes think I have “gout”, which I thought was something only fat old kings in history books got.  Anyway, some of the things that trigger gout are too much meat (supposed to eat 2-3 ounces a day or less–I bet that’s gonna happen) and the barley in beer.  So, in a health-conscious move, I have gone to wine, boxed of course, which is kind of my winter drink anyway.  Plus, one glass of wine a day is supposed to be good for you.  Of course, then, 8 glasses of wine will be 8 times as good for you. 

From the “here’s hoping that there’s a Heaven department”: “Happy Mother’s Day up there, Mom and Sis.”  Two ladies that were tied for being the best mothers ever, in my opinion anyway.  One lived to 94, and the other was taken from us at 53.  You are both greatly missed.

This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Here’s a list

  1. Nothing is my favorite thing to do! And wine therapy is much better than scream therapy, don’t you think?
    But hey, should I be worried? I mean, gout sounds bad. Gout sounds like some scary, arcaic malady. Are you sure you don’t just have a bunyon? Because bunyons are a good excuse for drinking more beer and doing more nothing. 😉

    • I’m so touched that you are thinking of being worried. I suppose I could always take the wild-ass step of actually going to the doctor. Gout is the buildup of too much uric acid in your system, and is the subject of a recent commercial where a middle-aged guy is walking around carrying a huge beaker of uric acid. The most common symptom is a burning or sore big toe. I’ve had an occasional “warm” big toe for years, and the other night it woke me up; felt like someone holding a match to the bottom of my big toe. If it is that, it’s easily treatable. Another symptom of too much uric acid is kidney stones; I’ll take a hot big toe any time! Too much health talk, I think–sometimes it seems like that’s all that us 40- and 50-somethings talk about.

      I’d have to agree that wine therapy is better than scream therapy. And I am so great at doing nothing that I may start doing something soon–we’ll see.

  2. groovyrick says:

    That actually sounds like a pretty good weekend to me, Kev…except for the gout-y thing. I had a friend that had that once and it put him on crutches for a couple of weeks. Of course, that may have been just so he could get good parking spots. I’ve been really lazy lately. In fact, after reading this story I had a self-debate about whether I had the energy to post a comment.

  3. both lazy and have gout….welcome to the “fat old kings in nursery books”…. Watch Game of Thones on HBO and you will feel at home:-)

Leave a Reply

